Print This Post

Scientists in the fields of Mathematics and Chemistry won Ta Quang Buu Prize in 2017

Minister of Science and Technology Chu Ngoc Anh has approved the Ta Quang Buu Prize in 2017 for two scientists nominated by the Prize Committees. Accordingly, the two winners of the 2017 Prize included:

  1. Prof. Dr. Nguyen Sum, Quy Nhon University

Subject: Mathematics

Project: Nguyen Sum, 2015. On the Peterson hit problem, Advances in Mathematics, Vol. 274, 432-489.

  1. Dr. Phan Thanh Son Nam, University of Technology, Viet Nam National University – Ho Chi Minh City

Subject: Chemistry

Project: Giao H. Dang, Thinh T. Dang, Dung T. Le, Thanh Truong, Nam T. S. Phan, 2014. Propargylamine synthesis via sequential methylation and C-H functionalization of N-methylanilines and terminal alkynes under metal-organic-framework Cu2(BDC)2(DABCO) catalysis, Journal of Catalysis, Vol. 319, 258–264.


Previously, on April 28th, the Ta Quang Buu Prize Committee 2017 had held a meeting to review, evaluate, and propose scientists for award (see list of four nominees for the Ta Quang Buu Prize 2017 here). At the end of the meeting, the Committee had selected the above two scientists to the Minister of Science and Technology for Ta Quang Buu Prize 2017. This year, the Committees did not propose any prize for young scientists.

The Prize ceremony is expected to be held on the occasion of Vietnam Science and Technology Day (18/5/2017) in Hanoi.