Print This Post

Two Vietnamese Mathematicians newly elected to be academicians of the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World (TWAS)

Two Vietnamese mathematicians who were newly elected to be academicians of TWAS are Prof and Dr Phan Quoc Khanh (International University, National University in Ho Chi Minh City) and Prof and Dr. Hoang Xuan Phu (Institute of Mathematics). These were the only two Vietnamese scientists out of 46 newly elected academicians of TWAS in this year.
The elected academicians were in 10 scientific fields, including mathematics with 4 new academicians. Besides two mathematicians from Vietnam, there were two other mathematicians from Brazil.

Prof. Dr. Phan Quoc Khanh (left) and Prof. Dr.Hoang Xuan Phu

Prof. Dr. Phan Quoc Khanh is an expert in optimization theory. His doctoral thesis was in 1978 and Doctor of Science in 1988 at the Institute of Mathematics, Academy of Sciences of Poland. The results of his research led to important developments in the field of vector optimization, equilibrium problems and variation inequalities. He is currently Vice Chairman of the Vietnam Mathematical Association.

Prof Dr Hoang Xuan Phu conducts researches in the fields of control theory and optimization as well as their analytical applications. His doctoral thesis was in 1983 and doctor of science in 1987 at the University of Leipzig, Germany. He is currently editor in chief of the Journal of Mathematics and a member of the Committee for Developing Countries (CDC), a sub-committee of the International Mathematical Union (IMU-CDC). Prof. Dr Hoang Xuan Phu has also an academician of the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences and Humanities and the Academy of Sciences and Humanities, Bavaria, Germany.

Prof Dr Phan Quoc Khanh is currently Vice President of the Mathematics Science Council under the National Foundation for Science and Technology Development (NAFOSTED). Prof Dr Hoang Xuan Phu was also a member of the council in the previous tenure.

NAFOSTED would like to send congratulations to the two Prof and Dr Phan Quoc Khanh and Hoang Xuan Phu for the election.

TWAS currently has 1110 members, of which Vietnam has 9 members (the list below lists the 9 professors arranged in chronological order was elected to TWAS): Nguyen Van Hieu and Dao Vong Duc ( Physics ), Le Dung Trang, Ngo Viet Trung, Ha Huy Khoái, Dao Trong Thi , Le Tuan Hoa , Phan Quoc Khanh and Hoang Xuan Phu ( belongs in Mathematics). Previously, the list has former Nguyen Huy Phan (Medicine), Vu Tuyen Hoang (Agriculture) and Nguyen Van Dao (Mechanics) .

(Source: VIASM )